Home > Editorials, Impressions, News > Playing Games?

Playing Games?

Yes, I have been playing games. I know it’s been a while for any type of update here on Player 2 but I’m back to do a little chit chatting about what I’ve been playing and some of my impressions on them. In my last post I’ve said I was really excited about Darksiders 2. How did that turn out? What else have I been playing? Also, I’ll give some WiiU thoughts from a person who doesn’t like Nintendo really at all. Keep reading for one of my first updates in weeks.

Time is something I don’t have a lot of lately. However, whenever I get a free moment I still enjoy gaming out. Several weeks ago, or months ago, I talked about how when I had all the free time in the world there was really nothing to play. Well, times have changed as the end of summer into holiday gaming onslaught has begun. First up for me was the release of the much anticipated Darksiders 2. I simply couldn’t wait to get my hands on this game. I preordered it up, preloaded it on Steam, and was all ready to go. Then I started playing (that sounds grim). First couple of hours through I was really into it. Felt like classic Darksiders to me. It had great combat, an interesting story, and puzzle solving dungeons. This felt about as good as I had hoped. I don’t know when the change occurred but sometime during one of my lengthy sessions I began to become stretched thin on the games mechanics. In all honesty the game started to feel extremely repetitive. Every new character I came into contact with made me his or her errand boy. I mean c’mon, I’m fucking Death here. The Grim Reaper. Yet, I felt like everyone’s bitch. “Oh, I can help you, but first you need to go here, then here, then there.” It started to get old. Enough is enough already, I thought. I’m about 12 hours into the game and have decided to put it down for now. It just isn’t doing it for me. From what I’ve read, the game is a little over 20 hours long. Which, at this current rate, will feel like an eternity for me. Time to move on. So I did, to my next game, and possibly my sleeper hit of the year, Sleeping Dogs.

Sleeping Dogs was not even on my radar. It came out the same day and Darksiders 2, and the thought of purchasing it didn’t even cross my mind. I almost wish I had a time machine and can go back into time and avoid Darksiders all together and just buy Sleeping Dogs. What a pleasant surprise this game has been for me. If you didn’t know, it’s an open world game taking place in China. I’m playing the game on the PC and let me just say that this game is gorgeous. Too often recently have PC games been simple console ports with little taking advantage of the superior hardware. Sleeping Dogs finally switched it up. Giving us stunning visuals with all the options to tweak to my liking. The game has really been a joy to play. The city looks great, the voice acting has been nothing but superb, and the gameplay is a blast. It has a very Batman like combat system which focuses on counters. However, it also has environmental kills during combat which allow you to drag your opponent over to let’s say a car and bash his head in the door. Everything about the game feels so polished and well made. If you haven’t tried it I urge you to give a chance. There is a demo out now and I’m sure prices will drop during this packed holiday season. The game may very well be my sleeper hit of the year.

Let’s end this update with my WiiU pricing and release thoughts. I’ll start out by saying that I’ve never been a fan of anything Wii. I personally haven’t owned a Nintendo console since the N64. I always felt they didn’t really have games that I was into. Now, they are finally (albeit extremely late) releasing a console to take advantage of our HD times. This month they gave us the release date details, games, and pricing. First, the pricing. You’re looking at $299 for the basic version(above) or $350 for the deluxe set.  All I have to say is: Who in their right mind is going to buy this thing? I can only see the hardest core of Nintendo fans shelling out $300 plus to purchase this. The console is barely more powerful (if at all) than the current PS3 or Xbox 360 and the launch lineup consist of games that we’ve all played. The only game I think looks remotely interesting is ZombieU. Other than that, I can’t see people really shelling out that kind of money. I think Nintendo really dropped the ball and priced this thing $100-$150 over what it should have been. I guess I’m just a Nintendo hater, but this can’t be real. Unfortunately for them, it is. Who knows what will happen though. This generation has gone on so long that all of us are just dying for something new, so even I, the Nintendo hater, may think about picking it up (joking).

Well, there you have it. I know I’ve said this countless times before, but I’ll do my best to keep updating Player 2 with my impressions and thoughts on the gaming world around us. Keep checking back for updates!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

